24
Jan
10

People, Almost Injured, Training Over

PEOPLE: Wow.  How much a difference the people in our lives can make.  It is amazing to me.  They can crush, they can encourage, they can love, and they can hate.  This picture above just popped out to me.  I friend of mine just came into the room.  She hugged me, shared with me some most encouraging words.  Loved on me for a second.  That was only minutes ago now.  It  improved my life.  It touched me deep inside.  I need people in my life and so do you.  I thank God for what that person just did for me.  I felt clean and validated and understood.  I felt accepted and loved.  I felt…………..like myself with someone who has no reason to really care about me.  But they did.  And it changed my heart.  I also have others in my life.  These “others’ break down, scoff, use sarcasm to manipulate and hurt.  These are the “others” that I don’t need.  Why not surround myself, when I can, by people who build.  Is it not a wise thing to do.  I think, at this time in my life, I have MANY more people who build me up and love me than I do those who always try to get their damn digs in.  Screw digs.  I say yes to love and care and building.  So that is what I have to say about people today.  They bring the most joy AND the most hurt in our lives.

ALMOST INJURED: I hate to brag, but I am a master at reading my body during running.  I have pushed and pushed all the way to my present physical limits with this training.  On another day at another time I will be even stronger.  I had 60-65 mile to run this weekend.  Yes, that is right.  25 on Saturday night and 40 on Sunday.  I ran 21 on Saturday night and got done around 10:30 pm.  I had to do it after work.  During that run my arch of the left foot really was acting up.  It was not the normal long run pain.  It was injury type pain.  I stopped at 21 to save myself for the 40.  When I got up this morning, my foot was killing me.  But the only way to know what or how bad it is is to going running.  I set out for the 40 miles and ended it at around 10.  My knee and arch were very painful.  Going the distance today would have been too much a risk for me at this point.  Maybe months ago I could have tried for more but with two weeks to go until my 100 miler, I cannot afford even a short lay off due to injury.  I have yet to get injured because I am wise about it.  I stop if I feel that one is coming.  I rest it.  I heal.  I have two weeks of taper to go.  My knee and foot will have plenty of time to be what they need to be for my race.

TRAINING OVER: Thank God that this huge and long process is coming to the culmination of a 100 mile run.  I put in so many hours of running:  the track, the loop around the lake at work, the hours of out-and-backs for the my long long runs.  All of it has brought me to this day.  Ready as I ever will be .  There is no improving now.  No more endurance can be gained.  No more speed.  No more nothing.  I have really won the battle in my opinion.  I made it injury free while training for a 100 miler.  I am going to make it to the starting line and do the best that I can do for that day.  This is real, this is life, and I am going to attempt to do what soooo few people ever even imagine.

9 Responses to “People, Almost Injured, Training Over”


  1. January 25, 2010 at 6:47 am

    Jason, I have been following your blog for months and really enjoy your style; you write from the heart. You have accomplished a lot, congratulations!

    You are wise to stop training. Like you said, there is really nothing that can be gained this close to the 100 by pushing yourself. The cost/benefit is way to heavy on the cost side of the equation. To continue would be to risk putting yourself out of the game after all your hard work.

    I will be watching anxously as the date draws near and hope you post a report after the event.

    Matt

  2. January 25, 2010 at 9:48 am

    glad you listen to your body, that could have ended really badly and the race could have never happened.

    Sometimes the ones we love the most are the ones that cause us pain, grief, etc….nice to see you are working on sorting those people out.

  3. January 25, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    I heard a quote in grad school – “It takes people to make people sick, and it takes people to make people well again”. I don’t totally agree that people are the only way to heal, but they can be one very helpful approach.

  4. January 26, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    … attempt what so fewer than fewer try… and in that attempt… explore your limits…

  5. 8 Kim
    January 27, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Sooo glad you are ok…wise man to listen to your body…and to know its limits. When you do the ultra….will there be a way to track your progress online?

    How many hours do you anticipate it taking?

    Cannot wait for the post race report….you soooo inspire me!


Leave a Reply

