18
Mar
10

Out of hermitville…………New life Check Up

Hello everyone.  I have decided, for the benefit of my own health to come out from being a blog hermit.  I have experienced a lot since the last time I wrote to you all.  My life has changed drastically, my heart is soft again, I have opened up myself to other around me, and I HAVE EATEN A VAST AMOUNT OF FOOD. HAHAHAHA.  I am not complaining though.  For today I show myself mercy and I don’t do that too often.  At this time it is needed however, so I will give myself a break.

  • I am current 8 lbs over my WW lifetime goal.  Yup, that is right, I actually had to pay the last time I went and that was the first time in around 2 years. 
  • I am having a hard time with recovery in my running lately.
  • I have stood up for myself and been authentic more in the last three months than I ever was in my previous 33 years of life.
  • My heart has changed drastically and I am excited to move on in my life to experience even more love and growth than ever before.
  • I am back to WW and starting out on a new path.  I will do well for sure.

I have received so many emails from all of you who care.  I appreciate it more than you would ever dream.  I did not return any of them for the most part but I did take each and every word that you spoke into my life and used it for good.  I have slowly (some would tell me VERY quickly) but surely emerged from a lot of crappy darkness.  I will never be the same but I will be better instead of worse. 

I will tell you all, that I have learned so much about myself and about people.  I have experienced and learned so much mercy and understanding.  When I think of it all I kind of melt into a lump of thankfulness.  I get filled with emotion at the realization that people (yeah, all of us) have the capacity to endure and grow more than even I ever imagined.  And I saw that Love and Compassion for others is a major factor in my ability to endure such things that I have.  I saw that my running is more of a picture of my life than I thought, and that it has taught me good lessons that will stick with me for a lifetime

A LITTLE MESSAGE TO YOU ALL

You know what guys, sometimes things just get hard don’t they.  Sometimes they add up over time, and other times they rush in to overwhelm.  I wanted to tell you that no matter what happens or has happened, just about anything is possible for you.  Now is not the time to give up on what you want in life.  Now is not the time to think of yourself as a throw away.  Now is not the time to let others talk you out of your dreams.  I know you can do what it is you want to do.  Just take one step, just one.  And in time, you will one day be where you want to be.  And during those many steps you will fall down.  This is ok.  This is nothing to panic over.  This is the normal human experience and it is highly desirable albeit not enjoyable.  Because when we do fall, we learn how to stand once again.

16 Responses to “Out of hermitville…………New life Check Up”


  1. March 18, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Excellent post and you’ve given us a lot to remember and think about! And I’m so glad that you wrote, because I was worried about you! Take care, Jason! We’re rooting for you!

    • 2 run4change
      March 18, 2010 at 7:58 pm

      THanks a lot pamela. I am glad I wrote too. It was time for me to come back to writing in my blog. I hope to stick with it now becuase it really is good for me to process things on my blog. And clearly it appears that others like it as well. HAHAHAHA 🙂 Thank you for caring Pamela.

  2. March 19, 2010 at 4:04 am

    There is a lot of wisdom in this post.

    Welcome back.

    • 4 run4change
      March 19, 2010 at 4:31 am

      Thanks Steve. You know, the failures and hard times really inject some good wisdom in life. HAHAHAHA. Kind of nice to look back on what you learned but never nice learning it. 🙂

  3. March 19, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I’m so glad you’re ok! I’ve been checking your blog every day for a month now, looking for you! I was just about to send you an email to see if everything was alright, but was afraid you were having to deal with “stuff” and didn’t need that extra bother. It’s so funny that we don’t even know each other, but I still feel like you’re my friend. I tell my husband about you all of the time, and things that you say in your post. I’ve shown him your yard work, and I’ve told all of my friends about your 100 miler. I call you “my blog buddy, Jason”. haha I have also started WW and have now lost 13 pounds. I want to lose 80 in all. Your stories are so inspirational to all of us. I’m so sorry you’ve been having a hard year, and I hope that things will turn around very soon.
    So glad you’re back with us! And keep on trying!
    Kathy

    • 6 run4change
      March 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      That is how it is on this little blog Kathy. It is like we are a family here. I am so glad you checked in on me and that is greatly encouraging. Thanks

  4. 7 Colleen
    March 19, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Thank goodness you are back Jason! I missed you.

  5. 9 Heidi
    March 19, 2010 at 8:00 am

    You are so inspiring. I am so glad that I get to hear your advice and that you are back blogging again. You really have a way with words and expressing your true feelings. I hope that you are happy and healthy. You deserve all the happiness life can bring. I am doing my first full triathlon tomorrow and have been beating myself up about not being a hundred percent on my eating/training. Your words of encouragement were just what I needed! Thanks a million T.J.

    Heidi

    • 10 run4change
      March 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm

      Hello Heidi, So happy to see you visited me here. I love that. Thank you for saying I deserve all the happiness. I think I do. You’re great.

  6. March 19, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Glad to “see” you around again! Life happens…it is how we get up and get back on track that really shows us what we are made of, even if we don’t see it.

    I’m glad some of the fog has gone away for you Jason. You continue to keep me focused on realizing I am worth it. Every.last.drop.of.it!

  7. 13 mikki
    March 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Glad to see you’re back. Check your blog often and hope you’re doing well. Thanks for always being so real. Don’t forget to have kindness and patience with yourself!

    • 14 run4change
      March 20, 2010 at 10:22 am

      THanks mikki. There is just no other way to live than to live authentic. I have learned that very powerfully lately. So being real has become increasingly important to me and my daily life

  8. March 20, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I love teh hope I hear in your voice Jason…I know you have been walking through some seriously dark SH^#…and it seems you are coming into the light again…it takes courage to walk in the dark…thanks for demonstrating…:-)

    • 16 run4change
      March 20, 2010 at 10:24 am

      Yes Kim, I have been through some real dark shit. HAHAHAHA. But I have learned some extremely profound (to me at least) things about myself, people, and how God loves. It has been an amazing journey and I am glad that I got to recieve some encouragement from you along the way.


Leave a Reply

