07
Apr
10

Dizzy Daze 50K!

I am sooooooo tired today.  I have been going to bed way to late for about a week now.  That must sound familiar to you guys.  I am pretty sure I have told you this uncountable times because I tell myself uncountable times that I will go to bed EARLY tonight everyday. HAHAHAHAHA.

I did another race last weekend.  I took it nice and slow for the most part.  It took a lot out of me because I am running only the minimum amount I need to in order to maintain my endurance for The Strolling Jim 40 miler.  I will be able to finish the race.  Maybe even slower than my first time doing it but I will finish it nonetheless.  I finished the 32.5 mile race up in Seattle in 6 hrs flat.  It was a very brisk and cold day but the sun was out for much of it which was very nice.  I was proud of myself for finishing the race.  I got up at 2:30 am to go to the race three hours away which started at 7 am.  I got done at 1 pm and drove home.  Got home at around 4:30, had a wonderful dinner that a friend made me, and fell asleep on the top of the bed while texting someone.  Woke up around 12 at night and finally got under the covers.  I was very sore after the run and my knee hurt. Advil did the trick for that and now it is Wednesday and I am fine once again.  Ready to run.  I am totally exhausted today though so i think I will try to go to bed around 6:30. HAHAHAHA

see ya later alligator.

5 Responses to “Dizzy Daze 50K!”


  1. 1 Carrie
    April 8, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Wow! Congrats on doing Dizzy Daze! I’m always tempted by that one but hate running greenlake and fear I would lose it and run into traffic after about the 4th lap! My hat is off to you! Well done!

    • 2 run4change
      April 8, 2010 at 9:31 am

      Carrie, why do you hate to run green lake. You must live near by or something and see it a lot. HAHAHAHA. I really enjoyed the loop a lot. Of course I did not enjoy it to much around loop 8 and on but it was not so bad. Nice and relaxed pace got me to the end. Do you go to these low key type of race for the maniacs often.

      jason

  2. 3 Carrie
    April 8, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Hey Jason –

    I do live near Greenlake and have run it so much I’m totally burned out on it. Still, having said that, if Dizzy Daze isn’t on the same day as the Yakima River Canyon marathon next year I’m going to do the 50K. (They’re moving Yakima River Canyon to April 4, 2011, unfortunately so they might overlap.) Anyway, if it works out I’ll be there! (And I’ll stay far, far away from Greenlake in the meantime!)

    Are you a Maniac? I’m #1725, just a baby Maniac. Just did my 9th race in Yakima on the 27th of March. I’ve really enjoyed following your blog and cheering for you along the way.

    Here’s to great runs and congrats on deciding to tackle the Across the Years race! I hadn’t heard of that one before — it sounds fantastic! Fingers crossed that your lottery entry is picked and you get in!!

    Best,
    ~ Carrie

    • 4 run4change
      April 8, 2010 at 12:41 pm

      Carrie,

      Thank you so much for sending me such a cool reply commnet. I appreciate that so much you don’t even know. I have always wanted to do the Yakima River one. If you do the 50k next year maybe I could see you there. Yes I am a maniac. I am #930. Dizzy was my 21st marathon or longer. I have had to “slow down” on the races and training because of crazy life circumstances but I still made it to Rocky Raccoon 100 so that is good. HAHAHAHA.

      I am very blessed that you follow my blog and cheer me on. It is so appreciate. Geesh, thanks!!!! I hope I get into the race too but if I don’t life AND running will go one. What is your next race you are going to do.

  3. 5 Carrie
    April 8, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Hey Jason —

    My next one is Tacoma! Hilly, hilly, wonderful Tacoma! Are you doing Tacoma? I’m planning to do 12 this year. We’ll see. (I really, really want to be a three star maniac by the end of the year!!)

    Yakima River Canyon was such a wonderful race! I’d recommend it in a heartbeat. The course is beautiful and incredibly generous, the support is wonderful and the people are amazing. There wasn’t an expo, they didn’t have timing chips and the shirt was cotton, but none of that mattered, it was a wonderful experience from beginning to end! Such a great event!

    Have a great day and a great run the next time you head out! Looking forward to your next post!

    ~ Carrie


Leave a Reply

