08
Apr
10

I am in the lottery!!

One of the corners at the 500 meter Nardini Manor Ultra Track

So most of you know that I dream of someday making it to the 100 mile mark running.  I know it seems crazy but I want to know that I can make it 100 miles and I plan on doing so at some point.  Last february I partook in a 100 mile trail run in Texas.  I made it 63 miles and dropped out because I had horrible blistering issues.  Also, just the junk I was going through in my life made it very difficult to find it so important to finish the race and go through so much pain when I had already been going through so much already.   I was proud of myself for the accomplishment and have not put my dream aside at all.   A week or so later I registered for the Across The Years Race.  It is in Arizona starting on December 29th and ending on December 31st.  That is right.  It is a 24, 48, and 72 hour race around a 500 meter track.  Not sure if that is the real distance of the track but I will be going in circles for hours on end running and walking if I get it.  You don’t just get into this race.  You register and then they process your entry into a lottery.  The lottery results will be published the morning that I finish my third year of running at the start of the Strolling Jim 40 miler.  You have to give three choices for the race and day you want.  I chose the following:

1st choice: 24 hour race on the 29th

2nd choice: 24 hour race on the 30th

3rd choice: 48 hour race on the 30th.

So we will see what happens and I will keep you posted.

12 Responses to “I am in the lottery!!”


    • 2 run4change
      April 8, 2010 at 11:10 am

      Yes I am in that video. Me and brad ran much of that race together. I enjoyed his company very much but in the last few miles he had to move ahead and I just had to slow it down some. 🙂 I love that race so much.

  1. April 8, 2010 at 11:32 am

    I still can’t imagine the 100 mile race. Your crazy insane – in a good way of course.

  2. April 8, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Very impressive 63 miles. I am hoping that you will mount a web camera on your hat so that I can see what it is like to do 100 miles!

    • 6 run4change
      April 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      Acually, not sure if you saw it, but someone posted a video of a 50 miler I did where a guy I ran with wore a head cam

  3. 7 seanv2
    April 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Good luck on getting in! I would really love to do this race one day.

    • 8 run4change
      April 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks a lot sean. I always appreciate your comments so I want to thank you for them. Have you done ultras before. Which ones if you have.

  4. 9 Rob
    April 8, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    119 people ran it in 2008. There are 160 people so far in the lottery. I’m pretty optimistic ……

  5. April 9, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Hola!

    All of your endeavors and accomplishments are such an inspiration! Keep on persevering!

    Smiles,

    Cristina

  6. 11 Dave V.
    April 9, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    Have you ever read the book “born to run”

    Found it to be an inspiring read and a looking the pyschy of you ultra runners…

  7. April 9, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I have my fingers crossed for you. I can’t imagine there is that many capable of running those distances that there needs to be a lottery.


Leave a Reply

