26
Apr
10

One more time around. Strolling Jim 40 miler

On May 1st of 2010 I will be painfully celebrating my third full year of running.   I have entered, and will be participating in the 32nd running of the Strolling Jim 40 mile run.  It is my favorite race of all and it will be my 22nd marathon or longer finish in three years.  I am proud of that.  That makes me feel good.  I have learned so much from running and have also experienced some REAL life stuff during my runs.  It has been amazing to see what running has had to offer my life as far as enrichment.

I originally was heading to the race alone.  This is not a problem for me because I have been to many of my races alone because Audrey didn’t really like to go to the races.  But for the Strolling Jim I have normally had some family along which was nice as it made it more vacation like.  This year as of a few days ago I will be taking along a great friend of mine who will be my support along the course.  It will be her first time ever to see an ultra and be a handler.  Should be a fun experience for both of us.  I am also heavier for this race than I have been for any race I have ever run.  This has worried me but I will take the distance step by step.  I will make it to the finish.  It is also supposed to be 80 degrees with thunder and lighting.  No surprise there though, this is how it has been every year. LOL.

5 Responses to “One more time around. Strolling Jim 40 miler”


  1. 1 Ben
    April 27, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Jason-

    I know what it is like to run a little heavy. I usually weigh between 205-215. I’m just a shade over 6 feet tall. You can do it! Keep on keeping on.

  2. 2 seanv2
    April 28, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Looks like a fun run, good luck!

  3. 3 Kim
    April 30, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    You are in an inspiration. Always remember all your accomplishments and how your hard work is an inspiration to others.

  4. 4 Teresa
    May 1, 2010 at 9:00 am

    Go Jason, GO! WOOT!

  5. 5 Kim
    May 3, 2010 at 12:02 am

    did you get to do this or did it get canceled due to flooding??


Leave a Reply

