04
May
10

Long race #22, 3 full years of running, Strolling Jim 40 Miler #3. Race report 1

 

This is the story of the original Strolling Jim Horse

This is the town center sign which traditionally welcomes all the racers.

I still love the Strolling Jim 40 miler.  I can’t even express how much I like it and how much cooler it is than any other race I have ever done.  First off, it is on pavement and I love to run on the road far more than on trails which is weird for an ultra-runner.  Second, the scenery is absolutely awesome, lush, nostalgic, and refreshing.  Thirdly, the people at the race are just too kind.  Wartrace is a very tiny town in middle Tennessee but it is a beautiful place.  The race starts right in the center of the town.  Days prior to the race, the weather predictions said it would be severe thunderstorms, rain, and tornados.  WOW!!!  How fun right!!!  LOL.  It was fun though and there was probably only about an hour max of thunder, lightning, and rain but the tornado watch was on for two days.  At 4:30 am I walked out of my motel room to roam around outside to check out the weather.  It was very warm and humid and the sky was darkly ominous.  After some coffee and walking outside I hunkered down in the room again to watch how to get “Financial Freedom in 30 days” from buying real estate.  This was interrupted with tornado watch until at least 11 am.  This would, however, go on for two days.  HAHAHAHAHA.  At 7 a.m. on May 1st 2010 100+ ultra-runners took off to complete the 32nd running of the race.

Here is where we started the race.

And we all eagerly take off for our adventure. This was my first race that I did not wear my traditional black shirt. I wore my favorite color on this race: GREEN!

A rail road runs right through the middle of the town where the starting line is.

I am always pretty nervous and quiet prior to starting a race.  Even though this was my third consecutive Strolling Jim, I was still nervous because it is such a special race and you never know what it will be like during such a long run.  But once I take that first step of the run I fall into my peaceful place (that is…………until the lightning started. LOL).  The race goes right into hills immediately as it bends into its 40 miles.  This race I made a concentrated effort to take things very slow the entire time and to enjoy the process as much as possible.  I was not going for a PR, or a faster time, or anything really…………………I just wanted to enjoy the experience.  I did very minimal training for this race and ran only twice a week max since my 100 mile attempt.  I accomplished my goal for taking it easy.  I thoroughly enjoyed the process of ultra running as it is intended.  I am thankful for being able to take part in my 22nd marathon or longer race and to have the blessing of running for three years consistently. 

More Strolling Jim posts coming up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 Responses to “Long race #22, 3 full years of running, Strolling Jim 40 Miler #3. Race report 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

