01
Jun
10

Hardest race ever for me???????? Forest Park 50k. Race 23 report

I had one of the best weekends ever.  It was fun, peaceful, comfortable and very enjoyable but…………… There were 7 hours of it that were not so good. LOL.  This weekend I finished my 23rd marathon or longer race at the Forest Park 50k in Portland, OR.  Although I had run 31 mile races before and uncountable times in training, it was the most difficult race for me since I started running.  It was gruesome and painful.  Did I finish…..YES!…….Did I finish pretty………NO!    But I did finish.  I did get to the starting line healthy.  I met nice people and came out of it with a great story and memory.  I can still run 31 miles on a whim.  LOL.  That’s good.  HAHAHAHAHA.  I got lots of pictures of the weekend in general.  So happy about that.

The course was very muddy by my standards and I don’t like that. HA!  I don’t even really like trail running but a muddy trail doesn’t appeal to me much AT ALL. LOL!  Nevertheless I started the race at 8:30 with about 100 other chipper 50k’ers.  A neat part about this race is that it was many runners first ultra-marathon and also many runners first trail run.  I am sure they loved it.  Most runners from the pacific northwest like running on trail even when muddy.  So I started out thinking it was just going to be another pretty easy long run having no idea that I would completely blow up and struggle to the finish. 

Here I am at the start thinking the day will go smoothly without any problems

Here we go! I also forgot my running shirt so I just wore a regular cotton shirt for the race. A new experience for me. It was weekend of many new experiences.

The race started out well: my eating was good, my hydration was good, my electolytes were good, my pace was good.  So what happened. Well, after an hour or two I met up with these two other runners and started talking and laughing away.  Time flew by but I was not monitoring my intakes well and figured I didn’t really need to because it was “ONLY” 31 miles. LOL.  I was wrong.  I also started the day off avoiding all the mud I could but eventually gave into the trail and just tromped through it for the rest of the time.  I got so tired that I didn’t have the mental or physical energy to avoid it any longer.  I was having a great time with my running friends until I hit 24 miles.  I let them go and started into my own personal ultra-running blow up.  I was exhausted, tired, thinking VERY negatively. hahahaha.  “I hate this…..I am never going to run long distances again especially on trails………I am not going to go to my 50k at Sun Mountain……….I can just stick to 5k’s……….Why am I doing this to myself……….How much further…………Am I to fat to be a runner……………I know this is hard because I’m fat………..Why do I have to be fat………..and so on and so on and so on.!!!!!!!  But there is one thing I have learned my friends, as bad as I wanted to give up, I knew I could make it.  It was just going to hurt more than normal.  I knew that if I just kept at it I would make it my 31 miles and be happy it was over and have another learning experience under my belt.  Kind of like life eh!!!!  I did make it to the finish in 7:15.  WAY longer than I had hoped but those last 7 miles totally wiped me out.  I am here to tell you that we can do much.  We can conquer much.  We can live through the most horrible crap and come out on the other side a better person.  I wanted to DNF and quit so bad but even if I wanted to I couldn’t, there was no way out of the race but to finish.  If I quit I still had to walk to the finish. LOL!  That’s life too.  You can’t drop out so you might as well make the best of it you can.  You might as well make a story of it.  Here are some more pics for you to enjoy.

So so so tired and barely running to the finish line.

Happy happy joy joy with muddy legs. Only about 100 more feet to a break from running!

7 hours worth of mud on my legs. Yuck!!!!

Tired but feeling good after shower.

I decided it would be more special to stay in Portland for the night. Here is a small glimpse of my nice room.

Did you guys even hear a word I said. LOL

5 Responses to “Hardest race ever for me???????? Forest Park 50k. Race 23 report”


  1. 1 seanv2
    June 1, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Oh man, sounds like a tough race, but looks like a beautiful course!

  2. June 7, 2010 at 3:18 am

    Jason, way to go and way to fight through all the negativity to finish. you are amazing and it is an honor to know you. Thanks again for your honesty. It means a lot to me.

  3. 4 Paloma
    July 1, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Woah! That run seems intense. I would love to train for a 50k race. This post is a great motivation!


Leave a Reply

