05
Aug
10

The train of life.

I was thinking today about life and weight loss and health and much more!!!  In my mind I hope that things will always be linear.  Just moving forward in one straight line of improvement or life enhancement.  I don’t think that this is how it works though; not for life and not for weight loss/maintenance.  At times this can cause some serious discouragement.  It touches all aspects of life and relationships.  We expect things to move in a straight line smoothly to our futures.  This never happens but we still expect it most of the time.  So I envisioned being on a train looking out the window.  It is all moving by quickly.  The beautiful meadows, the waste lands in the desert, the mountain tops, the valleys, the forests, and the rest of the landscapes of life.  If the train ride is long enough it feels as though the destination will never be reached.  It feels as if things are moving slower than slow.  Then it happens, you reach your destination but feel like you have “missed” out on so much because you can barely remember many of the details of the ride.  So I had a thought……….I get so goal focused sometimes that I don’t even care or remember about the interesting details of life or the journey.  Is it really so bad to not move in such a linear fashion.  Is it really so bad to hit pot holes or have sharp turns or maybe even have to stop for a rest at the station.  Before I would have said that there is not excuse for stopping at the station for a rest.  But the rest or the pause are actually not “stopping”.  Life keeps moving…….time keeps moving…….we keep moving.  An obstacle in my path that makes me slow down normally would just about kill me but what is the big deal.  It really isn’t a big deal.  In a way I think of all this stuff about being on a journey as happening on a train or one of those moving sidewalk things at the airport.  Lots of stuff happens along the journey but the movement doesn’t really stop.  So if I were to be doing my journey on a train, even if I stopped for a rest or reflection, the train would still be moving.  So it is with life it seems.  No matter what happens or where we are at or at what point we are………..life keeps on moving………the clock keeps ticking.  Then we end up at “A” destination.  It might not always be “THE” destination.  And this is not a bad thing.  Each day I live and learn.  Each day I try to remember and enjoy life and appreciate what is going on.  Whether it be running for running’s sake or just sitting down to rest for a short gaze at the moon before I go to bed, I just try to actually LIVE the time that I have on the train of life.

I am not doing perfect by any means with my eating and running and so on.  But I am ok……..Things will be ok…….My life will be ok………It will all end up as intended.

This probably makes no sense. HAHAHAHA.

4 Responses to “The train of life.”


  1. August 5, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Paragraphs, man! 😉

    It makes sense to me. I have these huge deadlines at work twice a year, one at July 1 and one at December 31. Preparing for those deadlines always renders the preceding six weeks into one big blur. About a month after each of those deadlines my brain starts to get ready to actually live the months that were a blur. Like yesterday I suddenly thought it was May again, and I’m looking forward to Rose Festival starting in June. I feel ready for the Christmas holidays around February. I have to remember to fit in some life during those deadline periods.

  2. 2 Heidi
    August 12, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Hey Jason! Hope you are doing well. Just read your latest posts. Sounds like you are still running and doing WW. Good luck on your journey. Keep going and I am soo envious of your running abilities. You are accomplishing AMAZING things! Don’t forget that. Have a great day!

    Heidi

  3. August 21, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Great view and analogy.. and to me it all makes sense! You know what? I’m not even sure there is and “THE” destinations and I think there are lots of “A” destinations. We are where we are. Not bad stuff. Now to focus on the moving along (even while taking breaks) and enjoy each moment. Cuz that’s all that life is made up of isn’t it? A series of “nows”.

  4. 4 Angela
    September 8, 2010 at 9:12 am

    It makes perfect sense to me. I almost always understand right where you’re coming from, which is why I read your blog everyday. On those days when I want to just sit in the local panera hours on end, tractor-loading bagels into my piehole and lamenting my woes, I think of your struggles and press on…without the bagels. Thanks for this post.


Leave a Reply

