23
Aug
10

Regulation Horseshoe Court added to yard

So I know I rarely post on my blog anymore.  Partly this is due to just being burned out on everything at the moment.  Running, eating, WW, working out, work, blogging, etc.  This is real and it has been very hard to work through but I am working through it to be sure.  So I am taking the rest of this month off from running.  In fact, I am probably not going to do many marathons for the rest of this year but hope to make it to the 24 hour race in Arizona this December.

So to change things up I have gone back to my yard.  It is a place where I find peace yet accomplishment at the same time.  I have done a project that I have been wanting to do for a long time.  I am half-way done so far.  It is a regulation horseshoe court.  I wanted two of them side by side.  I have been pondering and planning this for two years now.  This weekend, I went for it and I feel really good.  I got a ton of exercise and it was beautiful all weekend to do it.

I printed up every plan for a regulation horseshoe pit that I could find so that I could make sure that I did it the right way.

I started out with these plans about two years ago.  I had to get a permit to put them in because I put them in underneath power lines which the energy company has the right-of-way.  I got the permit a long time ago but life happened and I never got to it.  I built it exactly to these specifications except for that I had a couple of extra “rules” to follow because I have two side by side.

This is the court laid out in all the correct dimensions. Unfortunately I don't have a pic of the intermediate digging up of the sod

So I spied out my spot for the two courts and laid it out with string and big nails.  Then I painted the lines out so that I would not have to trip over the string or worry about cutting it when I was digging out the grass.  The courts were dug down to a depth of about 4 inches.  I did it the same way that I have done all the flagstone pathways on my property.  That is the worst part by far……….the digging.  I also sprayed the grass AND WEEDS with round-up a couple of days before.

About a full day's heavy labor later I have all the flagstone in and the depth I need for the pit itself

I basically did 3/4 of the flagstone last night and I was so tired I just could not do anymore……….well, I could have but I didn’t want to. 🙂  It is part of me trying to be balanced to purposefully not finish all at once.  The path is the regulation 18 inches wide all the way down so the “pitchers” have something nice and level to walk on.  I think it looks pretty nice too.  You can see I left the grass in the middle.  I will weed-eat this to get it really short and then plant a real nice athletic style triple perrenial rye grass blend.  I will cut it with a real mower that is manually pushed that way I don’t mess up the pathway with my riding mower and it should only take a few minutes.  The flagstones are about 3-4 inches thick with about 2-3 inches of 1/4 inch minus as a bedding.

I used red bricks to set apart visually the foul lines for the court

A regulation court calls for a 37 foot and a 27 foot foul line.  I used some old bricks from the former fire pit to make the foul lines.  I may change it later to something different but for now I kind of like it.  The 27 foot line is for juniors and women and the 37 foot line is for adult men.

12 degree forward lean towards the pitcher

I forgot to take pictures of the stake placement but the stake is supposed to have a 12 degree forward lean and be about 14-15 inches above the sand or clay.  Right now it looks longer because the pit material is not in place yet.  They exactly 40 feet apart as the plan calls for.  I used 18 inch width pieces of railroad tie to anchor the stakes in to make them solid but have good shock absorption.  They should last for many years of fun.  The stakes are 1 inch cold rolled steal.

Regulation courts have a backstop at least the width of the pit. My pit is 36 inches wide

You would not believe how dry and hard the soil was in my right-of-way area.  Dang it was hard.  It took my like 1000 hits with the post hole digger to make a 15 inch deep hole for the back stops.  The back stops are 18 inches high by 36 inches wide.  They are mostly there to catch the sand that flies.  They look pretty good and they better after all that digging.  I also have a loop on each back stop that will hold a measuring tool for all disputes of distance and ringers.

Pit just about finished now

All that is needed now is the pit material.  Blue clay is supposedly the best material to use but where the heck to you get blue clay. HAHAHAHA.  I am going to use sand for mine.  It’s easy and plus the neighborhood cats might even poop in it. 🙂

All done for today. Maybe finish the next court in a few weeks.

There is the court all finished up.  Felt good to take this picture.  We are going to have a bbq with lots of people over before the good weather is up so we can enjoy the little park I have made at my home.  I can’t wait until I can get the nice rye grass planted, it will make a HUGE difference in the way it all looks and flows together.  Notice it is in the shade.  I planned for this.  I took this pic around 2:30 pm.  It is full shade from that time on in this area.  Just in case it is too hot.  I will also paint the stakes white after the sand is in to make the stake contrast off the back board to give the pitchers better visability.

I thought it would be cool to just take a picture from ground level.  It shows the distance well and the flagstone looks neat from this angle as well.  This is my favorite picture of the bunch.  Not bad for a cell phone.

The pathway leading to fun

I didn’t forget about the logistics of getting to the pit either.  I built this flagstone stepping stone path about 1.5 years ago when I first started planning on having a recreational area under the power lines.  These are huge select flagstones leading from the fire pit area to the recreational area.  You can see the court kind of but the pic is not that great.  The pathway goes through these two giant cedar trees.

Another view of the opposite end from the pathway leading to the area.  This will also be where I am going to put a picnic table and some benches for the spectators.  It is also a nice forested shade area so it should be nice and comfy on a summer afternoon.

Thats all the pics I took and it was a fun project.  I burned massive amounts of calories installing it all.  I hope you guys enjoyed having a small lookey loo into my life.  see you later.

5 Responses to “Regulation Horseshoe Court added to yard”


  1. 1 A Guy
    August 28, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Hey – your horseshoe court looks amazing! Good job! I will be sure to show your Dad these pics when he comes in tonight – he will be so proud, and he LOVES horseshoes! Did you know that the Vern’s meats delivery guy is a horseshoe champion? Have a good time in Sunriver. =)

  2. August 29, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Awesome work! I need to hire you for my yard!

  3. 3 Angela
    September 8, 2010 at 8:41 am

    No one expects you to write all the time. Even though you will always play the superhero role in my eyes, you are still human. Periods of rest are essential for mental health. As long as you’re not resting with pints of Ben and Jerry’s! Lol!

  4. 4 Sheila
    October 28, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Dear Jason,

    I miss you.

    I flew to WA State (where I THINK??? you live) for the first time ever to run in a half-marathon on Oct 17th in Vancouver WA (across the bridge from Portland). Gorgeous out there! I’ve lived a number of places but never on the West Coast.

    While I ran I kept thinking of you; just thought I’d drop in and say “hi”.

    Sheila

  5. 5 Taylor
    March 6, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    Nice work! How has the flagstone held up from a few misguided flying horseshoes? I am a little concerned that they might crack significantly from the shoes. Can you let me know?

    -Taylor


Leave a Reply

