04
Jan
11

What to do when you don’t want to exercise

Man I didn’t want to run tonight.  I dreaded it, I wasn’t in the greatest mood, and I just wanted to be lazy.  I made up every reason in the world why I couldn’t run.  I had to go home to rest, I was tired, it was cold, I didn’t have my normal shorts, etc. etc.  So what did I do.  Well, I know for a fact that no matter what, when I am done exercising I am ALWAYS happy that I did it.  I have never wished I hadn’t done it.  So I figured I will just get out there.  Then once I was out there I told myself I will just walk only for about ten minutes.  But once I was out there I kept on and ended up doing my run for 34 minutes. 

So when you don’t want to exercise, just talk yourself into getting out and doing the tiniest bear minimum and you will probably end up doing better than you thought and be proud of yourself for doing it.

3 Responses to “What to do when you don’t want to exercise”


  1. January 5, 2011 at 4:24 am

    Good for you!! No excuses! Thanks for sharing. I do the same thing… Have a great day!

  2. 2 Sheila
    January 6, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    I agree with you 100% Jason! I have regretted not exercising many, many times, but never ONCE have I regretted going for a run after I finished. I eeked out :30 minutes yesterday too and am so happy I did.

    Sheila


Leave a Reply

