25
Jan
11

A stubborn day

I just plain ole’ felt stubborn toward healthy living today.  I wanted to go eat some fast food so bad.  I wanted to skip my run so bad.  I wanted to veg-out and just eat my little heart out on junky yummies.  I didn’t eat much today and that may have had a bit today with my yearning for junk food.  It was just one of those days where you really feel you deserve a good yummy to take care of your woes.  THAT……….doesn’t work though.  Basically it adds more woes to your day if you ask me.  I was able to attain victory at last though.  I just said “screw it” and took off for a run.  I was hungry and was about to just go get some cheeseburgers when I suddenly decided to at least get out the door for a run.  I did it and it was a nice run on a nice evening.  Then I came home passing every possible yummy gas station and fast food joint to wonderful and healthy dinner that Lisa had made me.  That was just great.  It was more than great……….it was perfect.  I am even below my points right now and will be able to probably snack a lot for the evening.  It all worked out thankfully.  So instead of eating junk I ate this:

10 Responses to “A stubborn day”


  1. 2 Kathy
    January 26, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Good for you, Jason!! This looks really good. Could you give us the recipe?

    • 3 run4change
      January 27, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      THanks Kathy and thank you for the comment. The recipe is easy. I just buy this chicken that is hickory flavored and then cook up some whole wheat pasta and that is that.

  2. January 26, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Yum!

    I struggle with feeling like I “deserve” a treat or to skip a workout frequently. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what brought me to where I am now–a place where I’m not happy with how I look or what I’m able to do. I’ve got a post brewing in my mind about this very thing–how we think eating poorly or not being as active as we should is some kind of reward or treat because we “deserve” it. When it comes right down to it, there is a place inside of me that doesn’t believe that I matter, and I wonder if that thinking is what comes to the forefront for me when I have moments of feeling like I “deserve” things that won’t make me healthy and happy–like I subconsciously think I “deserve” to be fat and sick. Hmmmm……..

    What we really “deserve” is to keep our minds and bodies in the very best possible shape so that they can serve us well and help us be the people we are meant to be. Excellent choices my friend.

    • 5 run4change
      January 27, 2011 at 8:12 pm

      This is very deep Teresa and I believe it to be totally true. I get what you are saying all the way

  3. 6 Amanda
    January 27, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I have been there far too often this winter in the Mid-west. But it looks like you chose a great pasta option.

    Looking for suggestions on music to listen to when I work out. My resolution for 2011 is to find more high energy music than the normal Top 40 stuff. While searching for music I found this video, its pretty funny and the song gets me moving.

    Music suggestions welcome. Any songs you can’t go to the gym without?

  4. January 27, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I just came across your blog, congratulations on your success! When motivation is lacking doesn’t it feel that much better at the end of the day, knowing you overcame it and made the healthier choice? I know I always feel that way 🙂
    keep up the good work!

  5. January 31, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Very Beautiful Pictures. I love it.


Leave a Reply

