23
Nov
14

Faster, Rainy’r, longish run!

IMG_20141122_112627859

This weekend I had a half-marathon to run on my own out on the curvy hilly roads of my hood.  The task was to keep a faster pace.  Often when training for really long races and runs, I do shorter runs at harder paces to keep myself in shape for shorter distances and this ultimately creates faster longer distances. It rained like crazy.  For about 3/4 of the run.  I took this pic because this little river developed in a matter of only about 20 minutes.  The cool thing is that instead of dread the rain or hate it, I turned my mind to loving it by realizing it was a cleansing run that was refreshing!  Awesome huh??? Did you realize that you can DECIDE how to think about something…….even rain during your run.  And that if you do this in a positive way it will help you in the rest of your life.  I think that that’s pretty darn cool. So next week I have a long run weekend again.  I will post about it then but I have to go about 50 miles in a 24 hour period and that will be my last long run before I hit the road for the Across the years race in Arizona. Wish me luck!

1 Response to “Faster, Rainy’r, longish run!”


  1. November 23, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    good on you! most likely to be NOT raining in AZ. You’ll have to visualize how cool and splashy your most recent run was when you are in the high desert of AZ for your event.


Leave a Reply

