28
Jul
09

50 mile trail run logistical prep. Late post

I tend to be pretty organized when I go for the really long runs.  I am pretty relaxed when it comes to a marathon for some reason, but any distance more than that always brings me to a very organized preparation prior to the race or long run.  I wanted to show you some pictures of my stuff before I left for the White River 50 Miler.

WR500

So here is all my stuff that I will use just prior and during my 50 miler.  Here is the list because you can’t really see all of it very well in the picture.  It is to bright:

  1. One bottle of poweraide for breakfast 3 hours before race
  2. 2 Powerbar Nut Naturals bars for breakfast before race.  I only eat 1.5
  3. 12 hammer gels for during the race (1,080 calories)
  4. 6 bags of perpetuem with two servings in each bag (3,360 calories)
  5. 6 rolls of multi-symptom rolaids in-case stomach issues pop up during the run.
  6. One jar of vapo-rub for use before the race to prevent chafing.
  7. Three separate bags containing vapo-rub for use during the race if needed
  8. Three labeled and disposable plastic bags to put my drop bag stuff into.
  9. 20 bandaids.  2 for each nipple, 2 for each foot, and 4 for each drop bag just in-case.
  10. Two water bottles
  11. 36 capsules of Endurolytes by hammer nutrition.  Three per hour taken during the race
  12. Running shorts with pockets
  13. Running shirt
  14. 4 safety pins

This is the basic list of stuff I used during the actual run.  This is my normal stuff.

WR5021

So this picture shows my treats that I bought for post-race.  Here is how I use this stuff:

  1. 1 bottle of regular coke for directly after finish.  What a refreshing sugary caffiene yumminess.
  2. 3 bottle of poweraide for the drive home
  3. One bottle of diet coke usually for when I am taking a shower after the race.
  4. One bag of “hint of lime” chips for after and before the race during the drive.
  5. 2 powerbar nut naturals for anytime
  6. I “heart healthy” nut mix for snacking during the drive.
  7. 1 pack of beef jerky for the drive home
  8. Three gallons of water for a possible shower after the race but before I get to a real shower.
4 Responses to “50 mile trail run logistical prep. Late post”


  1. July 28, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I love seeing all the prep you put in because it helps me not feel so OCD about how I prep for races. When Hunni and I run I have everything laid out the night before and he thinks I’m nuts. I just don’t want to forget something and get chaffed, sunburned, blistered, etc.

    Congrats on your run. It’s an amazing feat!

    • 2 run4change
      July 28, 2009 at 8:25 am

      Missrayn. Nothin wrong with a tad bit of OCD. I personally feel that being this way increases my odds of not having a “DNF” during an ultra. Many people do drop out simply because of lack of preparation. Dropping out because of something that you can control is just dumb. Dropping because of injury or other non-controllable circumstance is logical though. Thanks for the comment.

  2. 3 Kim
    July 28, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I am curious…what is a drop bag? And how do you keep your shorts up if you have all this stuff on you? Are you running with a backpack on???

    • 4 run4change
      July 28, 2009 at 10:18 am

      Kim: At ultra-marathons, they have these things called aid stations. At the stations they have food, drink, electolytes, etc. Some of the aid stations have drop bag zones. These are aid stations where they take a bag that you have prepared that contains the things that you personally want/need. A drop bag is basically a bag of stuff that you think you will need at that particular point in the race. So for my drop bag at the 27 mile marker this weekend, I had a pair of socks, bandaids, vaporub, energy gels, and some of my caloric drink powder. When you get to the aid station, the volunteers see your bib number and immediately go find your drop bag and prepare whatever you want prepared from it. These are important in the longer races because things always go wrong and it allows you to not have to go for to many hours without getting to a drop bag with the essentials in it.


Leave a Reply

