29
Mar
09

Landscaping before and after pics. Planting bed design.

Well, the stone company who was going to come and move my stone table had a break down on their forklift thing.  They did not come and move the table so I could not build the patio or the fire pit.  I was very very disappointed with this.  I still had a lot to do though.  I had a friend come and help me yesterday.  That was nice and a lot got down.  One of the things we did was design the planting bed on part of my driveway.  I transplanted and moved a couple of plants around, removed sod with a pick (no sod cutter this time), and mulch the area.  It was pretty darn hard.  I also tried to remove the basketball hoop but the person installed it into about a 2 foot by 4 foot pillar of concrete and we just could not move it.  Anyhoo, here are the before and after pictures of the planting bed.  In the future, there is going to be a small concrete paver pad in the middle of this bed.  That work and those pictures will came some time later.  It is hard to see the plants but the change in the bed is dramatic.  By the way, I am very sore from the work today.  It is a lot of work to removed sod with a pic but it is easier than using a shovel. All in all, I burned around 400-500 calories on this part of the days landscaping work.

Before I removed the sod for the planting bed

Before I removed the sod for the planting bed

 

THis is a before shot of a planting bed prior to sod removal

THis is a before shot of a planting bed prior to sod removal

 

This is an after picture of the planting bed

This is an after picture of the planting bed

 

This is the after picture

This is the after picture

9 Responses to “Landscaping before and after pics. Planting bed design.”


  1. March 29, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Nice work! I’d rather run 4-5 miles to burn those calories, though!
    😉

    • 2 run4change
      March 29, 2009 at 9:06 am

      Thanks llinda. The good thing about burning calories like this is that burning calories is a nice side effect to imrpoving something else in life. Pretty cool huh? I also never count the points I burn for yard work because it is not to exact but only predictions. I guess I could were my HR monitor but who wants too?? 🙂

  2. March 29, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Good point about making things nicer while burning calories!

  3. March 29, 2009 at 9:22 am

    What kind of stone are you putting in for your pathway? Same as before or different? One of my co-workers is big into reflexology and was recently talking about reflexology stone pathways- small flat stones. It sure looks like you’ll have your work cut out for you this upcoming season! And did I mention, your yard is HUGE!!!

    • 5 run4change
      March 29, 2009 at 10:31 am

      I will be putting down normal concrete pavers for the part in these pictures because I need something strong enough to withstand trucks passing over it. The yard is huge that is for sure but now that I have removed so much of the lawn I feel a little less pressure. HAHAHA A little. 🙂 THanks forthelife

  4. March 29, 2009 at 10:58 am

    My long term plan is to have no lawn in the front. I want some in the back for playing games and putting up MY swingset :). I’ll let the kids use it occasionally ;). Our front lawn is atrocious and you’re so putting me to shame with all the work you’re doing out there! Where do you live that you have such nice weather? We got yet another two inches of snow last night :(.

    • 7 run4change
      March 29, 2009 at 11:02 am

      I live in the raining pacific northwest. It actually poured down rain all day while I was working and it was still raining when I took the pics it just doesn’t show up on them for some reason. So I get nice weather from about June- August for the most part. The yard is 2.7 acres. Just thought I would tell you because you always say it is huge. You are right. HAHAH Basically, the main part I am landscaping is 1.5 acres. The other part is a field that I keep mowed and I have wonderful landscaping plans for that too it is just for the future.

  5. March 30, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I love reading about your landscaping progress! I can’t wait until I have property of my own. Everything you’re doing is coming out so beautifully, you must be so proud of yourself. There’s nothing like tackling a project on your own and seeing the great results!

    • 9 run4change
      March 30, 2009 at 9:11 am

      Kristen, that is so true. The work is very very hard but also intensely gratifying. Thanks for your encouragement.


Leave a Reply

