29
Dec
08

A Weight Loss and Weight Watchers Victory

Winter runnerI finally got outside and ran.  I was very thankful to have the privilege to run yesterday.  I ran for 35 minutes with my wife and got 4 WW activity points.  We had to stay in the ruts of the snow on our road but we were out there nonetheless.  In a way though, looking back at it today, I am a little depressed about it.  I know that any activity is great, but I am a little tiny bit sore from the run.  Only three months ago I could run 30 miles and not be sore.  So I am a little scared that I have lost all my fitness.  I know for a fact that it’s not true, but I still get freaked out about it.  So here I am after my run.  Feeling refreshed and alive.  It sure did feel good to get outside.  I am glad that the snow is for the most part gone.  Back to normal life again.

9 Responses to “A Weight Loss and Weight Watchers Victory”


  1. December 29, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Glad you got outside again for a run. As fit as you sound and look, I bet you’ll be alright. I can’t believe you can run in the snow with shorts on! What’s your pace at 35 minutes to earn 4 activity points? I have so much trouble figuring out those activity points that I usually don’t even count them.

    • 2 run4change
      December 29, 2008 at 9:11 am

      I don’t go by pace. I use the “jogging” category when determining my pace. I get really into things, so I have calculated that I get about .15 points per minute that I run/jog which turns out to be around 9 points per hour. A lot of runners just figure 1 to 1 1/2 points per mile. I am a bigger person so 1 1/2 is more accurate for me.

  2. December 29, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Thanks for the info. I’ll try to see if I can’t get the tracker to work with me by choosing the “jogging” option.

    Also, I haven’t read through all of your posts yet, but have you considered becoming a WW leader??? You would be such an inspiration to the members considering your weight loss and persepective. Plus,male leaders are rare as it is.

  3. 4 Shell
    December 29, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    You will be back in shape in no time!!

  4. December 29, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    You sound like me and my heart monitor. I am really OCD about calculating things. I think that’s my love for math. I don’t know. Good job on the run outdoors. I haven’t made my way outside yet. Still too cold for me.

  5. 7 Jen
    December 29, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    It must be nice to run outside, great job on the run even if you felt like you’re losing your fitness. If you keep up with it, I’m sure everything’s fine. I’m curious about Weight Watchers. Is it effective? I opted out of the idea because I know people who told me it didn’t help, but now I’m wondering if it’s because they didn’t follow through with it…

    • 8 run4change
      December 29, 2008 at 7:56 pm

      You know what, I actually believe that it would be impossible not to lose weight using the weight watchers program. I go to the meetings. Sure, there are many people there who don’t lose, but they are also talking about how then don’t track their food, exercise, etc. If you do the program exactly the way the program is to be done, you will lose weight. It is no miracle, it is still hard work to change, but I think it will certainly work and it is certainly livable for the rest of a persons life. Hope that helps

  6. 9 Jen
    December 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Yes that helps, thank you. My school offered Weight Watchers last year, I wish I took the opportunity.


Leave a Reply

