29
Dec
08

You can’t escape

emotional-eating

image credit:healthy-lifestyle.most-effective-solution.com

No matter how much you eat or drink, you can’t escape.  In a moment of  weakness some time ago, I saw a picture in my mind that really made it clear to me that I can’t escape my problems by eating or drinking.  It was a person escaping from their problems by eating/drinking.  They floated up and away from their problem situation peacefully, but as soon as the emotional eating episode was finished, they just dropped right back down into the same difficult situation.  They hadn’t even moved an inch.  The problems and the emotions were still there.  NO GROWTH.

We think we escape, but we actually just step away for a moment and then when we come back we realize that our eating never changed anything.  On top of that, we now feel guilty for eating like that.

I am choosing to not using eating as a medication anymore.  I want to grow, grow beyond where I am today.  Life is so much healthier when you don’t try to escape anymore.  You just face it (that is VERY hard sometimes), walk through the fire, and on the other side you are refined by the fire.  I thank God for His help on this one.

For some simple steps on how to reduce the impact of emotional eating on your life today, keep reading…..

Here is a resource to check out if you want more specific steps on building better habits regarding emotional eating.

Overcoming emotional eating today

3 Responses to “You can’t escape”


  1. 1 Shell
    December 29, 2008 at 7:02 am

    Thanks for my morning dose of encouragement!!

  2. December 29, 2008 at 9:00 am

    This is so true … for me at least.

    One thing I am focusing on right now, is reducing food to just part of my life and not my life. I’m finding other things to do when that emotional eating thing rears it’s ugly head, like going for a walk, grabbing my camera gear and going out and finding interesting stuff to photograph and so on.

    • 3 run4change
      December 29, 2008 at 9:08 am

      That is so smart. We can’t just get rid of the habits, we have to replace them with a positive habit. Good thinking and great job


Leave a Reply

