15
Apr
09

Confused??? My issue with goal weight.

Which goal should I pic

Which goal should I pic?

I don’t know what to do you guys.  I am confused about what goal weight to choose for myself.  I don’t want to pick the WW goal weight of 196 because I want to weigh less than that and have a big cushion as a lifetime member.  I don’t want to pick a goal weight that is too low because then it will take to much work to maintain it.  What am I to do?????????????????????????

When I started WW my personal goal was 225.  Then the Doctor gave me a note that told WW that 210 was my goal weight.  This allowed me to get lifetime earlier and not have to pay anymore.  Then I wanted to get to the official high limit goal for WW which is 196.  Once I realized I could weigh less than two hundred pounds, I wanted to hit 179 because that is how much I weighed my sophomore year in high school.  At that time about 1.5 years ago, I chose 175 to be my goal weight.  Then when I started the blog last December I chose 178 because if I kept between 2 lbs of that goal I would pretty much always be below 180.

Well, I just cannot seem to get below 180 anymore.  I know I could if I was more steadfast and strict with my WW program, but maybe I don’t want to have to be “that” strict.  I don’t know what to do.  I think I could maintain my weight in the low 180’s much easier than I could maintain my weight in the mid 170’s.  I know it seems like not much of a difference.  Maybe 5-7 lbs is all it is but the mental side of being in the 17’0’s is nice.

What do you guys think about this?  Any advice?  Take the poll and give me a comment on your thoughts.

32 Responses to “Confused??? My issue with goal weight.”


  1. April 15, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I chose the 180 – 184 range. It sounds like your body keeps bouncing you back to that range. And it’s still FAR below the high end of the WW range (196) for you.

    I really do believe (based on what you’ve written) that you are living healthfully now. Even when you splurge and have a plate of nachos or some other fatty food, you are conscious of your portions and when to stop. Sometimes you stop immediately other times it might take you a couple of days to get back into the groove, but you do eventually get there.

    If you never had those minor splurges every now and then, I would then be concerned about the quality of life that you are living. I’m not condoning a free for all every week, but at some point, you do have to lighten up on yourself and simply live your life *joyfully*. There is joy in healthful living, but the stress of maintaining the goal you’ve set for yourself just seems to steal away some of your joy(you obsess/dread weigh in even after you’ve been at your goal weight for over a year, you harbor guilt when you’ve enjoyed a weekend vacation with your wife, etc) and that makes me sad for you. There is more to you than that and as your friend (I hope), I want more for you.

    Wishing you a joyful day,
    ~amy

    • 2 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 10:14 am

      Amy. I love your insight. I appreciate so much what you have said FRIEND. 🙂 THis is my thinking as well. Sure I “could” get in the mid 170’s and maintain but what is the quality of life there. How much deprivation is there. YOu know what I mean. I take your words to heart.

      Thank you very much.

  2. April 15, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I struggle with this, too.

    You need to let your body tell you where goal weight is. Keep in mind that loose skin has its own weight, so the ‘underneath’ body, so to speak, is actually fine – whereas you want to have it look like it did in highschool on the outside, which would mean trying to diet away age and loose skin.

    What you need to do is spend a few weeks eating in a manner that is controlled and comfortable enough for you to maintain for your lifetime – and see what your weight settles at. It’s no good trying to stay below a certain weight if you are starving, overexercising or bingeing as a result of strict rationing.

    The number itself means nothing, it’s how you feel and how your body feels about the life you live with it every day 🙂

    • 4 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 10:16 am

      Lori- I have been doing that approach now for over a year so if my body is telling me anything it is telling me to stay between 180-185. Thank you for your help and support

  3. April 15, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I agree with Amy. Sounds like your body is telling you where it wants to be. Also, you are older, and our bodies change. You have more muscle, I’m presuming, than you did as a sophomore and that could contribute to the difference as well, right?

    • 6 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 10:24 am

      Yes, more muscle can contribute to a higher weight. Sounds like all of the advice is heading in the same direction. It is so nice to have people help me. 🙂

  4. 7 somedayistoday
    April 15, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Lori is right – The number means nothing! Why is your focus on a particular number? What is your attachment to a number on the scale? Shouldn’t your focus be on the quality of your life and how healthy your are feeling and what you’re doing to stay and improve your health? My opinion about the 170’s is you cannot go back to high school dude! You’re a man now and your body is completely different and requires different things. Your metabolism is different too. I would NOT try to be in the 170’s EVER! I believe that would be unhealthy and then ALL of your focus would be on acheiving and staying at that weight, which would take up all of your time…that would mean no time for anything else. I think it’s time to focus on something other than your weight to be honest…perhaps another part of your health journey like nutrition, other areas of emotional/mental health or spiritual health to bring your health life into balance so that the great success that you’ve had can stay there relatively struggle free. :0) Just my humble honest opinion. You have a great life, it’s time to really let go and live free to be who you are! I totally understand keeping your weight in check in the maintenece phase so I hope what I’m saying isn’t coming across too harsh or in the wrong way. It’s not meant to. :0)

    • 8 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 10:36 am

      Not to harsh someday. I am glad you added the last two sentences though. HAHAHA 🙂 I cannot/will not stop caring about the weight. I feel very healthy at all the various weights that I have been at for the last 1.5 years. I felt healthy as heck at 200 actually. For me, I just can’t go by how I feel. I just can’t do it. I do not trust my feelings regarding my health status. Now maintaining a weight range is concrete and something that I can do. I need concrete. I need to know how many points I am supposed to eat each day. I need something to focus in on rather than just having a greyish ever slightly changing target to look at.

      Thank you so much for your encouragement towards health.

  5. 9 athlete
    April 15, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I agree that keeping a particular weight in mind. I’m no where near goal, but I know that for me and as someone who has struggled with weight her entire adult life, I need to have that “security” that a goal number provides. If I were to rely simply on how I feel, I’m afraid that I would be spinning out of control before I realized it. Having the number will help you not get too far beyond what you want without correcting.

    I say split the difference between 196 and 170. Somewhere in the 180-184 range is great!

    • 10 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 10:57 am

      You worded what I wanted to say so much better. Yes, what the weight number does for me is to communicate to me where I am headed and when I need to correct my habits. I would be far from goal before I started to feel bad.

  6. April 15, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I had thoughts similar to somedayistoday when I first began to respond. At least as far as you focusing on something other than your scale weight. But then I realized that if you weren’t focused on your weight, we wouldn’t have your blogs to identify with so I was being a bit self serving in that aspect. 😉 At the same time though, everyone has to have something in their life to focus on and at this time, that appears to be your weight goals. As you grow more comfortable with your new self, you will find more balance in your life. You know what foods are healthy and aren’t so now you’re figuring out how to keep them all balanced so you can maintain the healthy life you’ve worked so hard for. I so get that 🙂 And eventually you will have kids so more of your focus will shift towards raising the kids than weight maintenance.

    So, I think that for this season, you’re probably focusing right on what you need to.

    • 12 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 11:00 am

      It is not that I constantly focus on it. It seems that way because I have a blog about it, but it is not my main focus. Right now my main focus is landscaping and running and wife.

      All the weight does for me is to communicate to me when it is time to reign it in a bit. Like I said in the previous reply, if I waited until I felt like I was unhealthy I would be far from where i want to be. It took me all the way to 307 the last time before I felt unhealthy enough to start losing. HAHA

  7. 13 Ms Oblivious
    April 15, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Voted for 180-184 range. Not sure how tall you are, but in pictures you’ve posted you appear to be looking very healthy, fit & lean. I guess you need to ask yourself how do you feel when you are in that weight range. Do you feel healthy, energetic, strong etc? I would hate for you to be living life in a constant battle with a number on the scale.

    • 14 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 11:51 am

      Thanks for the vote. I am not really understanding what everybody’s problem with a number is. The number does mean something. The number is used by Doctors as a measure, body builders as a measure, …. It is an important number and that number itself is a huge indication of health. If you add body fat % to that number it becomes even more meaningful.

  8. April 15, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Sorry Jason, didn’t mean at all for you to feel attacked or criticized for the scale weight. 😦

    • 16 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 12:05 pm

      THat is ok AMy. I am not offended at all. I just don’t understand how the number on the scale carries no real significance. I just think that how much I weigh has a great deal to do with my health. It is not everything because a skinny person can be unhealthy, but I can’t be healthy without being at a lower weight. Maybe not the 170’s but I know I am healthy now than I was at 250. I think keeping my weight in check is the first thing I have to do on this health journey. Then I focus on other things but then again other things keep my weight in check too. 🙂

  9. 17 Lara
    April 15, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Have you ever had your body fat percentage measured? That might be a more accurate way of determining whether or not you could (or should) lose anymore. You look very lean in your pictures. If your body fat is high, that means you could concievably lose more. But I’m guessing your body fat is pretty darn low which would make losing quite difficult.

    • 18 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 12:08 pm

      I do check my body fat regularly and it hovers around 11-15 % so it is probably somewhere in the middle. That would be considered healthy for a man but necassarily extre lean. I would love to have 10% but I don’t think I am willing to pay the price. So pretty much at all times I know my fat lbs and my lean muscle lbs.

  10. 19 Ms Oblivious
    April 15, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    For your height/bone structure are you in a “healthy weight range” per BMI charts?

    • 20 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 12:51 pm

      Yes oblivious. I am in the upper spectrum of my healthy BMI. I could not get to the lower as it is 155 or so I think. HAHAHA That is crazy. I would be like a skeleton at that weight. That is actually the weight my doctor wanted me at when I started but now that he sees me he says that I don’t need to lose anymore.

  11. April 15, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    If Einstein had had to decide what his goal weight should have been, we might never had heard of the theory of relativity. The stress of deciding must have made you worry-away a couple of pounds anyway.

    • 22 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      It is only a theory and a post-modern one at that. 🙂 It is not to stressful to decide really though. I am just working through the real life maintenance stuff.

  12. 23 afatgirl
    April 15, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    180 – 184 sounds like where your body seems comfortable. So that’s what I picked!

    Honestly? I struggle so much with a goal weight. At this point, 150 barely seems attainable to me! (Still about 55 pounds away from that one…) But that’s the HIGH range of “healthy” for me. (Actually; it’s probably beyond that, but my doctor said 150 would be about perfect in her opinion.) 180 seems to high (I’m a shorty) so I just struggle. I’d like to think I’ll know when I get there. But I hear so many people struggle with that when they are there anyway. (Sorry to hijack your blog like this *lol*) I’m just glad you touched on this today!

    • 24 run4change
      April 15, 2009 at 1:37 pm

      No hi-jack. I love your comments. You will know much more when you get there. YOu will see how feasable it is to go lower or even if you want to. Great job

  13. April 15, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Jason, I too have a goal that some think might be unrealistic for me. 130. Truth be told, as I get down there, that goal may change. I have no idea what that will look like on me with my frame.

    Weighing the same as you did in Sophomor ein HS. Ummm you realize back tehn you were not done growing. Your bones continued to grow and what not. It could be not feasible, healthy or practical for you to be that low again. Especially if your body seems to want to stay in teh low 180’s. I chose that range for you as well. YOu look great. YOu have said you have loose skin and even if not very much, I would guess it weighs about 5 lbs at least.

    My last thought is what is with the number on teh scale. Are you living for that number or are you living for your LIFE? If a number becomes yoru focus, then it becomes your God. I know you enough to know that you have a different God. SO why do you keep putting that number up in that high place? I hope that doesn’t sound harsh…I don;t want to be, and at the same time I don;t want to enourage you to give up early on something you have spent a lot of time striving for. I guess I would ultimately say…(dare I say this and risk sounding “religious”?), pray about it, and see if anything comes up for you about this number. Perhaps your ideal is not where you should be.

    • 26 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 3:51 am

      Muchas Gracias Kim. I appreciate your words. The fact is, I do weigh the same as high school pretty much right now. HAHAHAHA I weighed 179 at my lightest in high school.

  14. 27 donna
    April 15, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    jason I voted for the high range too,you need that so you can have some leverage,my word ,did you say 11% body fat?That is just amazing,you shouldnt have any complaints at all.I say just relax and enjoy being so healthy and fit.

  15. April 16, 2009 at 4:42 am

    YOU do my friend what makes you happy and what is attainable and sustainable to you.
    But we all need to realzie we need to weigh something, we all need to have a weight. The trick is to be comfortable with that weight. One needs to be VERY wary of becoming anorexic and developing the syndrome of Male Physique Dysmorphia. As I read your words about wanting to lose more weight, I went deep into thought about my own battles with weight. From that I did develop bulimia and I have developed dysmorphis. I don’t want you to arrive on my path. I don’t want you to suffer as I have and still do with my weight scars. The admiration I have for you and for Rob Fitness is incredible. I battle my weight, but you & he have taken out a full blown war. Have a wonderful day.
    (((Hugs)))
    Darrell

    • 30 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 4:49 am

      Darrel, I truly appreciate your comment. You said it very well when you said, “But we all need to realzie we need to weigh something, we all need to have a weight. “ That is the truth. You can’t just through the weight out unless you only go by body fat %. That is the only way. Don’t worry my friend. I am not headed down that road. I must say though, I have always thought I was fat but the more pictures I see of myself now the better I feel because it helps me to see me how others see me and I look dang skinny in my pics. HAHAHAHA

  16. 31 RobFitness
    April 16, 2009 at 4:59 am

    See what happens when I sleep my life away. I miss out on being the first to offer my opinion 🙂
    You have some pretty awesome comments on this one my friend. I do have to agree that I too feel that I need a number to judge and keep tabs on myself with. We can easily get comfortable at various weights, as you have said. If we don’t have a number to go by the that weight can easily creep up and before you know it you’ve gained 20-30 pounds and am wondering what happened. It’s becasue we became to overconfident and didn’t stay focused on our weight. So I say since your body is telling you that 180-185 is were you seem to be able to keep yourself at, I say stick with that range. Because any lower weight goal will I think stress you out to be able to achieve that and with you training for that 100 miler you don’t need the added stress of trying to reach a lower weight added to your life.
    If you are happy with that weight (180-185) and you are comfortable maintaining that, I say that is were you should keep your focus at. It’s a realistic goal to keep maintaining your life at.

    • 32 run4change
      April 16, 2009 at 5:02 am

      It is a realistic goal Rob and I think that is the range I am going to choose. I might as well since I have already been in that range for a long A.. time. HAHAHA THanks for your support. it is a relief to know that others understand what I am trying to say about having a number to work off of.


Leave a Reply

