03
Jan
09

Q&A post 5: Weight loss struggles present and past!

david-and-goliathThanks for getting involved followmyweigh.  You asked for a post on the struggle.  Man, we sure all do have our moments don’t we?  I chose this picture to the left because it is David and Goliath.  It is a good picture of what we all go through when we’re fighting for our lives, for our health, and for our families.  During our weight loss journeys we encounter barriers, road blocks, hard times, etc.  Followmyweigh calls them STRUGGLES.  Here is the comment:

“I’m interested in the struggles aspect!”

I have two major struggles when it comes to weight loss and weight maintenance.  Honesty and Monotony

  • Honesty during my weight loss journey was a definite struggle.  It still is a struggle.  Let me put you inside my mind for a moment so you can see what I mean by honesty.  At times I think like this, “UMM, should I eat this.  Nah, well it is about 6 points for the whole thing but I am just gonna take a bite.  Oh that was good.  How many points was that I wonder.  Come on, it was just a bit, don’t count it.  You don’t even have that many points left for the rest of the day.”  So there it is.  Inside the thoughts of a guy who lost 130 lbs.  This is such a struggle for everyone I know who wants to lose weight.  We love to lie to ourselves about what we eat.  We try and pretend we don’t eat it.  My WW leader always says that a lick, bite, and taste still has points.  I have a hard time with this. The best thing to do is to stop the guilt.  Guilt brings in the fear and the fear keeps us from writing or tracking our food.  We need to keep track of what we eat, don’t let guilt bog you down.  I am not honest because I don’t want to be guilty of messing up.
  • I struggled with monotony big time.  It almost broke me actually.  I am doing better at it now, but it is still hard.  I have a tendency to figure out what I need to eat to make the program work great, and then eat THOSE things.  Not much else, oh no.  I stick right to what I know works and works well.  Sure it got 130 lbs off my body, but it is also not to healthy or livable.  You may not be as extreme as I am, but most of us get into a rut of some sort at some point in time during our journey.  The only way to fix it is to change things up.  Get into the unknown territory again and start fresh with new food and new meal ideas. Like I said, this is not my strength and it is a constant battle.  I am happy to say that I am getting better at though.
8 Responses to “Q&A post 5: Weight loss struggles present and past!”


  1. January 3, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I’m hoping some of your readers have some tips on beating the monotony monster, as it’s one I struggle with as well. In my mind I know I should try new recipes and break out of my rut, but I confess that I get lazy and stick to what I already know how to make or do more often than not!

    • 2 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 10:04 am

      This as you know is a struggle for me too. I like to stick to what I KNOW WORKS FOR SURE. I think I need my own personal chef to think all day long on how to surprise me with something new every night. 🙂

  2. January 3, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I’ve never really used the word “honesty” to describe it, but I sure think most of us who are overweight suffer from this. I know that there are times I think that one bite isn’t really going to matter, but the fact of the matter is that it does. It kind of reminds me of the joke about the “rules of dieting”, where we rationalize everything we eat (i.e., If no one sees you eat it, it has no calories.)

    • 4 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 10:06 am

      Oh man, I accidently deleted the one with the link. Not sure how to get it back. Sorry about that. Good point on people seeing us. If I am alone things tend to be low cal. 🙂

  3. 5 maggieapril
    January 3, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I’m glad you mentioned monotony. I hadn’t realized it, but that is something I’m having an issue with recently after having been on WW for a full year. But recognizing it will help me figure out a solution to overcoming it. Good call – thanks!!

    • 6 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      Yes, it can get to us. I like to be in a rut kind of. It is not good for me really, but I know what works I guess I should say. I like to get out of the funk though, but then I make my new stuff my new rut if you know what I mean.


Leave a Reply

