10
Jan
09

BELIEVE IT OR NOT! Will run4change resist the pie in the sky?

PIE!

You won’t believe what just happened to me.  Was it an answer to prayer or was it a dark dark scheme of the evil one 🙂  One of my wonderful employees just presented me with this absolutely beautiful temptation.  She baked a special pie for me.  Pumpkin caramel with a mother load of heavy whipped cream on top.  Estimated at a minimum of 16 points per meager slice.  I love pumpkin pie.  I love the thoughtfulness of this employee too.  Will I be able to handle it? TAKE THE POLL, IT WILL BE FUN!  Check this out for a healthy alternative to my pie.


29 Responses to “BELIEVE IT OR NOT! Will run4change resist the pie in the sky?”


  1. January 10, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Oh my God, pumpkin is one of my biggest trigger foods. Sorry, I voted yes you will have some of the pie. I think I would, but just one small piece.

    • 2 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

      Hey thanks for doing the poll. Nobody hardly does my polls. Thanks for the comment too, and no offense to the vote. I think I may vote that way too 🙂

  2. January 10, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Wow! Now, that’s a pie! Perhaps you should treat it like the Biscotti earlier, only give away the rest instead of throwing it away.

    • 4 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      May just do that, I just don’t want the employee to feel bad if she sees me give it away to another employee. Everyone stares at it as they walk by my office

  3. January 10, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Mmm, I love pumpkin pie but never had one like that. I’m sure it is terrible – stay away!

    • 6 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 2:07 pm

      Yeah, I bet it is the worst tasting garbage around. Thanks for coming by. I appreciate your contribution of humor.

  4. January 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    I have never seen a pie like that before – crazy goodness!

    • 8 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 2:07 pm

      Goodness, you crazy. Just kidding. I tell ya, it is sitting right behind me now. About three feet away. I can actually smell it 🙂

  5. January 10, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I say cut a very thin sliver – a third of a normal slice or less. If it is great, be sure and tell her. Then share the fantastic pie with everyone else.

  6. January 10, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I agree with Steve, enjoy a small slice and share the rest. Fight temptation, you can do it :).

  7. January 10, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Before I make my comment I must say that I think it was very nice of your coworker to make this pie for you. However, I am wondering does she know the journey you have been on? Does she know that you have lost 130 pounds? Does she know that you still struggle with your weight and tempting foods? If she does know these things why is she making you a pie? Maybe she’s jealous and wants you to eat the whole thing, so she can feel better about herself. 🙂 I think you should thank her, have a piece, and share the rest. If she sees you giving it to others and says something you can let her know you had a piece and that you are still watching what you eat and thank her or you could take the rest of the pie home and give your wife a piece and throw out the rest or like me you can give the rest to your bachelor neighbor. Just some suggestions. I voted by the way, twice, that you WOULD NOT eat any.

    I’m actually bothered by the fact that she gave you a pie. Especially if she knew about your journey. Sorry for being a downer here.

    • 14 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      All I have had is a small finger dip into the whipped cream when she gave it to me. I have not eaten any yet. It is still intact. THanks for the comment. In my industry there is a fair amount of turn-over, so most of my employees have never had the honor of experiencing the fat grumpy guy. They have only seen me. I do however, put up pics on my door every now and then just to show off a little.

  8. January 10, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    OH yeah, I’ve been wondering if your lovely wife has a blog?

  9. 16 CJ
    January 10, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Well, take it with you like you are taking it home and give it to the homeless shelter or something. I voted yes because you might be tempted to eat just a little so as not to the hurt the feelings of the person who gave it to you…..HOWEVER, Put down the pie!!! Put it down now! Run away from the PIE!!!!!

  10. 18 CJ
    January 10, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    No, I am new to your blog so I DID NOT see your cookie jar post, until now! How funny!! But, still true! Good luck with the pie! All in all, it was still a wonderful gesture!

    • 19 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      Yes it was so very nice of her to do that. She really went out of her way. She is a hard worker and a good employee when she comes in.. I know she is having a hard time in her life right now, even though she might not see it. All we can to is love people in that place.

  11. January 10, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    I would have to give that pie away very quickly. I might use some of my 35 points to have a bite first. I make Vitalicious pumpkin Vitamuffuns for one point and put FF Cool Whip on them. They are so yummy. That’s how I get rid of my pumpkin pie cravings. Last night I had a Vitalicious Brownie for one point with strawberries and FF Cool Whip. There are so many good replacement foods for the things you crave.

    I am sure you will do the right thing for yourself!!

  12. January 10, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Jason, the suspense is killing me! Did you eat any pie???? I gave into dessert tonight, like I knew I would. I just need to go back to planning for it so I don’t feel deprived.

  13. January 10, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Have a piece and share it around with everyone else as well. Best of both worlds. 😉 What is life without pie?

    • 24 run4change
      January 11, 2009 at 12:15 am

      I think I agree there Andrew. Thanks for the comment, I think it is time to reveal the true answer to the big question now.

  14. January 11, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Joanharvest, is that a brand you can buy or a recipe somewhere? Please let me know. Thanks

  15. January 11, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Actually you use the Vitamuffin mix for blueberry muffins and add more ingredients to it. If you go to vitalicious.com the recipe is there. All their muffins are 1 point and I love them. I do love the pumpkin muffins the best. There are 6 grams of fiber in each muffin.

  16. January 17, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Oh my god – that looks so amazing! I am a sucker for anything pumpkin and anything caramel.

    • 29 run4change
      January 17, 2009 at 5:59 am

      I tell you. It was so tasty. I could have easily eaten at least half of it or more. I didn’t, but I sure wanted to 🙂 THanks for stopping by


Leave a comment