25
Feb
09

Weight watchers weigh-in results, biggest loser, and I’m doing fine.

weigh-in-002So last night I weighed-in.  I just stepped on that scale with bravery and courage.  But when I saw a 2.2 lb gain my heart sunk a little.  I figured I would gain and I knew that there was a possibility of gaining back the three pounds that I had lost, but I was still in denial.  Now I don’t think that I actually gained 2 pounds of fat but nevertheless, I gained.  I took it pretty hard for about 10 minutes until my WW leader started the meeting and made me laugh.  Then I popped out of my little funk and said, “Oh well, it is what it is.  There is no changing that number right now so I will move on with my life.  I know what I need to do”.  The best part of about this gain is that I know why I gained and it is no where near being a mystery.  That means it is easily remedied.  Amen to that.  I weigh 187.2 again.

Stay updated on my weigh-ins every week by subscribing to my blog.  You can subscribe via email or feed.

I still did not count my point yesterday but this week is a new week.  I did not eat bad food at all but I just did not count and not counting is a bad habit to get into.  I am right back to counting and journaling today.  It’s not hard to count and journal, it is just that I have to make myself do it.  The old way of life tells me I don’t need to but the new me says I will and I have to in order to keep the weight off.  I am thankful for my WW meeting as it is a great source of help and strength whether I am gaining or losing.  Going to meetings is essential for me.

I watched the biggest loser last night after my weigh-in.  It was a pretty good show although I was disappoint with the fact that they did not do their own weigh-in.  I am still so pleased that for the most part both teams are acting as they are one big team.  They still seem to realize that although they are playing a game for $250,000.00, they are also in a far more important game of life and death.  It was also interesting to see Bob break down and cry.  I can understand their hurt and discouragement because they probably still believe that it is the trainer who is getting the results for them.  I don’t think they fully realize that it is THEIR hard work that is taking of the pounds.  They will soon enough and the trainers are the perfect element of motivation that they need right now.  I love this show.

All in all I am feeling good and after reading Kim’s comment to me I am feeling stronger then ever regarding my weigh-in results and future “big picture”.  Thanks Kim and thank you all for all of you support and care.

37 Responses to “Weight watchers weigh-in results, biggest loser, and I’m doing fine.”


  1. 1 Kim
    February 25, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Way to be brave and way to no tlet the scale dictate who you will be or how you will be.

  2. February 25, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Have you ever tried doing Core/Simply Filling technique of WW? I love it, and it’s nice for a change from counting points for everything you eat.

    Plus, from a lot of your meals/snacks I’ve seen, a good deal of your food falls into the “filling foods”. Just something to chew on 🙂

    Good job getting out the funk! Sometimes that’s the hardest part.

    • 4 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 11:02 am

      I have done CORE before. It works good but I tend to go overboard on fruit when I do it and I have never lost and usually gain when I do it. I like it a lot though.

  3. 5 Kim
    February 25, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Oh I was waiting for 12:15 EST to go read all about YOU, but then was in teh middle of writing my blog post for the day which actually turned into 2! I almost saved my blog as draft right at 12:15 but figured I would finish first…jsut in case it was there right then, I didn;t want to be disappointed!

    ANyway, thanks for the kudos in yoru blog entry! I had no idea!

    • 6 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 11:22 am

      Cool Kim. Thanks for being here for me. 🙂 I will make sure to take off in a minute and check out your blog

  4. February 25, 2009 at 11:17 am

    TBL is on again tonight. They cut it to one hour last night and one hour tongiht due to the presidential address. They will have their weigh in tonight. GO BLUE TEAM…. well Sione and Filipe

  5. February 25, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Thumbs up!

    (btw…that’s a lot of coffee carafe’s in your picture up there!)

  6. February 25, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Glad you are feeling better about your gain. It is all about learning when we are weak and likely to slip into our ‘old’ selves.

    I had an awesome run today and it made me think about you. Actually, I often think about you when running. I was able to run for 15 minutes without stopping. That’s a record for me! Thanks for always inspiring me Jason. 🙂

    • 12 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      That is so awesome. Great job. You must have felt like a mighty conqueror. 15 minutes is fantastic. Keep it a rollin Rebecca

  7. 13 kaxfenix
    February 25, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    Good attitude, no worries on the weight gain!!! Look at it this way at least you are not 257! I would kill to be 187 at the moment 🙂

  8. 15 afatgirl
    February 25, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I think you have a great attitude about your gain this week. Sure, it sucks. But, this week is a new week.

    I haven’t watched the Biggest Loser this season (no tv here either!) but you’ve inspired me to maybe buy it on iTunes… I do miss watching.

  9. 17 RobFitness
    February 25, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Sorry that i have been away from your blog lately. I sure do miss a lot of posts in a short period of time. Boy you love to write don’t ya 🙂 I love it though and your doing great at it. Proud of you for not letting the small gain get the best of you. You owned up to, let it go and you’re moving forward. That’s one great attitude you have there and hopefully some of it will rub off on me as well.

  10. February 25, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Great attitude. I cried through most of my meeting last Saturday, so I’m really proud that you were able to snap out of it rather quickly. It’s good that you know what you are doing and what you need to do now. I’m out of the habit of tracking, so thanks for the reminder. I will be getting back to it tomorrow. Take care, Melissa

  11. February 25, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    It is so difficult to step on the scale when you know you are up. I skipped my meeting this morning because I didn’t want to step on the scale and see what I knew would be gain. Probably a big gain. Possibly a gain of everything I lost over the last few weeks. Fack.

    It was really brave of you to go to your meeting. As always, you are inspiring. I think I’ll head to a meeting Friday and suck it up.

    • 22 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      Go for it p4. No matter how the weigh in goes, you way the same regardless. You might skip the scale but it don’t change the weight. It took me forever to think like that. You will do fine and if you do gain and then just hop on board and start again. Wow. I just wrote a lot of “and”. 🙂

  12. February 25, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Also, I feel like there could have been more ballad-like angsty sad music during slow motion hugs in yesterday’s the biggest loser.

    • 24 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 5:30 pm

      Bwa ahahahahhhahahalkdngasi 🙂 🙂 That is hilarious. I would have loved to the “this is the end” by the doors during the creepy part of the song.

  13. February 25, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    P4 you just made me crack up about your biggest loser comment. Even my kids were talking about it. Thanks. Also, I used to skip meetings when I thought I had gained sometimes I went anyway and weighed in and was pleasantly surprised. Also, be careful about skipping it can lead to skipping more and more meetings and can be hard to get back into it, so I’m glad you said you will find a Friday meeting. You know what you need to do and we are here for you. You can get to that meeting and you can do what you need to do. Wahhhooooo!! that’s my cheer for you P4.

  14. 27 Clint
    February 25, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Funny…I also was thinking (and typing, naturally) about The Biggest Loser tonight, only in a more negative light: I think that, at least for people just starting out on their Big Weight Loss Gambit, that a show depicting people losing 12 pounds every week can actually be counter-productive, because your reality just isn’t going to imitate TV. It can make it hard to appreciate that you’re a pound less than you were last week when people are getting the stink-eye on TV for “only” losing five.

    • 28 run4change
      February 25, 2009 at 9:14 pm

      Definitely not realistic results for people who have to work and be with loved ones. Certainly possible with 8 free hours a day to work out though. I have seen people trying to expect similar losses as the biggest loser and it is setting them up for disappointment

  15. February 25, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Good job just taking it as a learning experience. A gain is hard. I think the little ones are worse though. Consider it as a challenge to blast through in this new week.

    They ended BL after an hour to show the Presidential address but here in Alaska that was on 5 hours before due to the live feed/time difference so BL just abruptly ended. They cut to a commercial and then started some Alaska history show. No credits or end comments. Just over. Rather confusing until my husband did the math and realized that was when you were scheduled to watch the President live.

  16. 31 donna
    February 25, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Hey whats that song they sing “youre gonna make it after all”,thats you Jason.Oh man am I ever old thats from the mary tyler moore show,now Im depressed.But you are you know,gonna make it no matter what!

  17. February 26, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I have to weigh in tonight and I’m nervous! reading this reminds me that it’s not the end of the world if I do gain, and i’m moving in the right direction. thanks for that (and congrats on your progress) 🙂

  18. February 27, 2009 at 3:00 am

    Clint, one thing about BL is that the trainers repeatedly say that the show is not real life and that they are the olympics of weight loss. They tell them that a pound or two a week at home is great and healthy, so even though it is true that a lot of people are going to see that and be disappointed at least they are saying it. Afterall, it is still a TV show when it is all said and done.

    • 36 run4change
      February 27, 2009 at 5:06 am

      So right Melissa. Bottom line, The Biggest Loser is a business for profit. They do what they need to do to make money with the show. That is it. I still love to watch though


Leave a Reply

